UFC RETURNS TO AUSTIN WITH A WELTERWEIGHT THRILLER

UFC RETURNS TO AUSTIN WITH A WELTERWEIGHT THRILLER

Las Vegas – UFC returns to Austin, Texas with an action-packed fight card, headlined by an exciting clash between welterweight contenders. No.10-ranked Donald Cerrone will look to rebound when he battles surging No.15 Yancy Medeiros in the five-round main event of UFC FIGHT NIGHT: COWBOY vs. MEDEIROS at the Frank Erwin Center on Sunday, Feb. 18.

A perennial fan-favorite, Cerrone aims to snap the first three-fight skid of his career. Known for his aggressive and exciting style, “Cowboy” has locked horns with the who’s who of mixed martial arts. Over the course of his career, he’s secured impressive wins over Matt Brown, Rick Story, Benson Henderson, Eddie Alvarez and Edson Barboza.

Standing in Cerrone’s way is rising welterweight Medeiros. A training partner of featherweight champion Max Holloway, Medeiros is has gone 3-0 since debuting at 170 pounds last year. Following impressive wins against Sean Spencer and Erick Silva, Medeiros stopped Alex Oliveira in a Fight of the Year candidate last month.

The co-main event will see a clash of heavyweight finishers, as No.6-ranked Derrick Lewis faces No.8 Marcin Tybura.

A power puncher with 16 knockout victories to his credit, Lewis was riding a six-fight win streak before suffering a setback to Mark Hunt in July. During his UFC run, “The Black Beast” has delivered spectacular wins over Travis Browne, Roy Nelson and Gabriel Gonzaga, and he aims to re-stake his claim among the heavyweight elite.

As for Tybura, the rising prospect recently engaged in a spirited scrap with former heavyweight champion Fabricio Werdum. Though he came up short on the scorecards, he proved he can compete with the best fighters in the division. With victories over former champion Andrei Arlovski, Luis Henrique and Viktor Pesta, Tybura is gunning to use Lewis as a stepping-stone to a title shot.

Additional bouts on the card include:


UFC FIGHT NIGHT: COWBOY vs. MEDEIROS
will air live on FS1 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT on Sunday, Feb. 18, with the prelims kicking off the evening on FS1 at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT and on UFC FIGHT PASS at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT.

Return To News

Upcoming Events

SHOBOX: Claressa Shields vs. Hanna Gabriels
Cowboy Cerrone vs. Leon Edwards on UFC Fight Pass
  • free broadcast
Xcite Fight Night 2   Buy Tickets
First Time Customer?   Click here to Begin
Joe Hand Boxing Gym   Check it Out