HOLLOWAY BATTLES EDGAR IN FEATHERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP FIGHT AT UFC 222

HOLLOWAY BATTLES EDGAR IN FEATHERWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP FIGHT AT UFC 222

Las Vegas – A thrilling featherweight title bout between champion Max Holloway and No. 2-ranked contender Frankie Edgar headlines the first UFC event at T-Mobile Arena in 2018. UFC 222 takes place on Saturday, March 3 and will be available live on Pay-Per-View.

Recently voted top fighter of 2017 by UFC fans, Holloway extended his win streak to 12 with a pair of TKO victories over all-time great Jose Aldo last year. During his spectacular run, he’s also defeated former lightweight champ Anthony Pettis, Ricardo Lamas, Jeremy Stephens, Charles Oliveira and Cub Swanson. With his first successful title defense under his belt, Holloway now begins his quest to establish himself as one of the greatest champions in UFC history.

Standing in his way is former lightweight titleholder Edgar. Originally set to challenge Holloway in December before being sidelined by injury, Edgar aims to become only the fifth fighter to win championships in two UFC divisions. Known for his fast-paced style and iron chin, he has earned impressive wins over Yair Rodriguez, Chad Mendes, Urijah Faber, Gray Maynard and two-division champ B.J. Penn. With the history books in his sights, Edgar plans to stop the surging Holloway in his tracks.

UFC 222 will see heavyweight contenders collide when No. 10 Stefan Struve locks horns with No. 12 Andrei Arlovski.

The tallest fighter on the UFC roster at 6’11½”, Struve is also among the most dangerous finishers in the heavyweight division. Of his 28 career wins, 25 have come via knockout or submission. During his UFC tenure, he’s bested current heavyweight champion Stipe Miocic, UFC Hall of Famer Minotauro Nogueira and former title challenger Antonio Silva. Struve now hopes to return to the win column and add yet another legend to his stellar resume.

A former UFC heavyweight champion, Arlovski looks to keep his momentum rolling following a decision victory over highly touted prospect Junior Albini in November. Throughout his 19-year run, the dangerous veteran has fought the who’s who of MMA heavyweights. He holds wins against former champs Fabricio Werdum, Frank Mir and Tim Sylvia. Arlovski now has his sights set on re-entering the Top 10 with a stunning win over Struve.

Additional bouts on the card include:

UFC 222 will air live on Pay-Per-View at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT on Saturday, March 3, with the prelims kicking off the evening on FS1 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and on UFC FIGHT PASS at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT. Doors are scheduled to open at 5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT.

Return To News

Upcoming Events

Volkan Oezdemir vs. Anthony Smith on Fox Sports 1
  • free broadcast
UFC 230 - Daniel Cormier vs. Derrick Lewis
Classic Deep Purple LIVE   Glenn Hughes
Joe Hand Boxing Gym   Check it Out
First Time Customer?   Click here to Begin